Dr. Taleb Mokari awarded Krill Prize for Excellence in Scientific Research

Dr. Taleb Mokari, a senior lecturer at BGU's Department of Chemistry and a member of the Ilse Katz Institute for Nanoscale Science and Technology, has been awarded a prestigious Krill Prize for Excellence in Scientific Research 2011.

Dr. Mokari received the Prize for his work on developing novel nanostructures for renewable energy applications.

Mokari received a Bachelor's degree in 2000, a M.Sc. in Physical Chemistry in 2002 and a Ph.D. 2006 from the Hebrew University of Jerusalem under the supervision of Uri Banin; his thesis was awarded summa cum laude. He was a Fulbright and an Ilan Ramon postdoctoral fellow with Peidong Yang at the University of California, Berkeley for one year, and joined the Molecular Foundry at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory as a staff scientist in 2007. He joined the Department of Chemistry and the Ilse Katz Institute for Nanoscience and at BGU in 2009. His research focuses on the chemical and physical properties of inorganic nanostructures. His group specializes on synthesizing nanostructures, investigating their fundamental physical and chemical properties, and studying their potential applications for renewable energy.

He has received the Chorofas Award (2004), the Eshkol Scholarship from the Ministry of Science, Israel (2005-2007), the Intel-Dean Prize (2005), the Kaye Award for Innovation (2005), the Israel Chemical Society Award (2006), the Schlomiuk Prize for Outstanding Ph.D. Thesis (2007), the Fulbright Fellowship for Postdoctoral Studies (2006-2007), Ilan Ramon Fellowship for the best Fulbright Fellow (2007), the IUPAC Prize for Young Chemists (2006), Dean's honors for excellent researcher from the Faculty of Natural Sciences at BGU (2010), and a Ma’of Fellowship established by the Kahanoff Foundation (2011).

Initiated in 2005 by the Krill family, six prizes, of $10,000 each, are awarded annually, in Exact Sciences, Life Sciences, Medicine, Agriculture and Engineering, to excelling faculty members at the Universities in Israel, who hold the untenured positions of Lecturer, or Senior Lecturer. Selection is made by the Wolf Foundation Scholarships Committee on the basis of the candidate's excellence and the importance of his or her field of research.

The Wolf Foundation was established in 1975 by inventor, diplomat and philanthropist Dr. Ricardo Wolf, "to promote science and art for the benefit of mankind." Since 1978, the Wolf Prizes have been awarded annually to outstanding scientists and artists - irrespective of nationality, race, color, religion, sex or political views - for achievements in the interest of mankind and friendly relations among peoples.